MODO DE VOLAR

And He was asking him, "What is your name?" And he said to Him, "My name is Multitude; for we are many."

In the beginning – Ma Rainey II

ma

Ma Rainey is also one more person whose bisexuality is often erased in favor of lesbianism, or more commonly, her relations with women are omitted while her marriage, to the also musician Pa Rainey, reassures the desired “normality”. Rainey was occasionally in trouble with the police because of her affairs with women, and she was even arrested in 1925 for hosting and taking part in an all-female orgy.

This song is said to be about that episode.

Went out last night, had a great big fight
Everything seemed to go on wrong
I looked up, to my surprise
The gal I was with was gone.

Where she went, I don’t know
I mean to follow everywhere she goes;
Folks say I’m crooked. I didn’t know where she took it
I want the whole world to know.

They say I do it, ain’t nobody caught me
Sure got to prove it on me;
Went out last night with a crowd of my friends,
They must’ve been women, ‘cause I don’t like no men.

It’s true I wear a collar and a tie,
Makes the wind blow all the while
Don’t you say I do it, ain’t nobody caught me
You sure got to prove it on me.

Say I do it, ain’t nobody caught me
Sure got to prove it on me.

I went out last night with a crowd of my friends,
It must’ve been women, ‘cause I don’t like no men.
Wear my clothes just like a fan
Talk to the gals just like any old man

Cause they say I do it, ain’t nobody caught me
Sure got to prove it on me.

One comment on “In the beginning – Ma Rainey II

  1. Pingback: on black bottoms | MODO DE VOLAR

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 14/11/2015 by in ENG and tagged , , , , .
